top of page

Reflections on artist talks and how this links to my own work

I find attending artist talks thoroughly enjoyable. You get to hear the opinions of the artist, how they view themselves and their work, what is personal to them, along with where their ideas come from, rather than how they are perceived by other artists, critics or galleries. Often when work is displayed, this information and the development of the work is not present so you only see the finished result.

Talks allow us exposure to different ideas, concepts, materials, technology, and techniques.

I'm always surprised to find similarities between my work and views, and that of other artists whom are often working in different mediums, and are of different ages. Yet, certainly in the case of AA2A artists (artists that work in different mediums) that come to the National Glass Centre to experiment with the Glass & Ceramics often for the first time, I often feel somewhat impressed by how they translate their techniques in their own practice onto these new materials in ways that I would never have thought of doing myself.

It shows why it is important to expose yourself to more than one medium, in order to be aware of other possibilities within your own working practice. This can include experiencing different surroundings that may have different environmental, political, and social issues happening close by, that you may otherwise not be aware of. Even if these are not used in your own works, this presents things in a new light or understanding by looking through the eyes of someone else. It may open new opportunities for you and have an effect on your current or future work.

Personally, I find my work consists of a mixture of ideas, some stretch into my past and are associated with my upbringing, some based upon visits, trips, or even day-to-day walks and experiences. Some ideas may be a response to talking with other people or viewing work and thinking how this makes me feel.

In my own work I enjoy producing new exciting things, pushing my technical ability as well as challenging myself. I think it is good to not stand still for too long or the work could stagnate creative ability. That is not to enter into the argument of the successful artist who does not produce new works. It is no doubt safer from a financial viewpoint to produce recognisable work that collectors and galleries want, in order to meet the demands of others, rather than produce new, different, and exciting work, as termed by Polly Courtney as the 'golden handcuffs'.

As a fairly sociable (but reserved at times) person, I find it inspiring to make connections with other people as it could lead to the opportunity to work alongside like-minded, or even totally different individuals, to take inspiration from them and see things differently. It is perhaps the thing I find most enjoyable whilst studying Glass & Ceramics at the University of Sunderland. The open-plan layout allows students of different backgrounds, ages, disciplines, and levels to work alongside each other, discussing their work and sharing knowledge.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page